Taco dressed with grilled scapes, pickled spring onions and salsa fresca

Mmmm, scapes! We had scapes and spring onions and some cilantro, and I was keen to hop on the taco bandwagon. All the hip kids are doing it. I bought a tortilla press and braised some beef short ribs in chicken stock and dried chilis.

Toss the scapes with oil and pepper and salt, and put ’em on a hot grill. I did some onions too, while I was at it. Don’t leave them on for long, or you’ll get little black scapes that taste like char. I’ve done it. More than once.

Thinly slice some red spring onions and combine with half a cup of apple cider vinegar, a teaspoon of sugar and a teaspoon of salt. Voila; pickled onions!

The salsa is just more spring onions, cilantro, tomato and a jalepeno. Cut up and combine.

I’m having a bit of trouble getting my tortillas to look perfectly scorched, but I’m new to this whole corn tortilla business. Need more practice. Nevertheless, the result was delicious.

Yowza!

Words and pictures: Rob Bitschofsky

Cet article a été publié dans Recipes. Ajoutez ce permalien à vos favoris.